PSC Drops Magu, Promotes 24 Commissioners Of Police And Others

A file photo of former EFCC boss, Ibrahim Magu


The Police Service Commission (PSC) has declined the promotion of a former Acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) but promoted others including 24 Commissioners of Police.

“The Commission declined the promotion of CP Magu pending clearance from the office of the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice and the Office of the Inspector General of Police,” the spokesman  of the PSC, Ikechukwu Ani said in a statement issued on Thursday.

All newly-promoted Commissioners of Police are now ranked as Assistant Inspectors General (AIGs).

He explained that the promotion were the highpoints of the commission’s 12th Plenary Meeting on Tuesday and Wednesday presided over by the PSC Chairman and a former Inspector General of Police, Musiliu Smith.

It listed the newly-promoted AIGs as  Usman Nagogo, currently CP Federal Intelligence Bureau, Force Headquarters Abuja; Bala Ciroma, Cp, FCT Command; Ahmad Abdurrahman, NIPPS, Jos; Adeleke Adeyinka Bode, CP, Kebbi State Command; Muri Umar Musa, CP Kaduna State Command; Lawal Jimeta Tanko,( former  COMPOL POPOL) and presently Commandant Police Academy Wudil Kano; Dauda Abdulkarim, Commandant Police Traning College Kaduna; Usman Alhassan Belele, CP Research and Development, Force Headquarters Abuja; Adebola Emmanuel Longe, CP. Nasarawa State; Musa Adze, CP Anti Fraud, FCIID, Abuja; Philip Sule, former CP Ebonyi and currently CP SPU Force Headquarters, Abuja; Usman Sule Gomna, CP Jigawa  State Command.

Others are Adamu Usman, CP Niger State Command; Daniel Sokari Pedro, Deputy Commandant, Police Academy Wudil, Kano; Ahmed Mohammed Azare, CP Taraba Command; Adamu Saleh Jajeri; Maigana Alhaji Sani, CP FCIID Annex Kaduna; Audu Adamu Madaki, former CP Welfare, presently CP, Benue State; Ibrahim Sani Kaoje; NIPPS; John Ogbonnaya Amadi CP Airport Command; Ede Ayuba Ekpeji, CP Kogi State Command; Mohammed Bagega, Kwara State Command; Bello Makwashi, CP Borno State Command, Buba Sanusi, CP Katsina State Command.

Equally, the commission confirmed the appointments of three acting Deputy Inspector Generals (DIGs). They are Tijanni Baba who took over from Rtd DIG Aminchi Samaila Baraya for North East; Zanna Mohammed Ibrahim, who replaced Rtd DIG Ibrahim Larmode, North East and  DIG Moses A. Jitoboh who succeeded Rtd DIG Ogbizi Michael for South South.

Thirty-five Deputy Commissioners of Police were also promoted to Commissioners.

The Chairman of the Commission while pledging PSC’s resolve to ensure that officers’ promotion will always be fair, congratulated the newly-promoted police officers and urged them to be committed to serving the country within the ambit of the law.

Like it? Share with your friends!

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *